ON THE MOVE: Morgan Stanley, JPMorgan Make Senior Management Changes

view original post

Ted Pick and Andy Saperstein have been named Co-Presidents of Morgan Stanley, effective June 1, 2021. Pick leads Morgan Stanley’s Institutional Securities business and will now also be responsible for Morgan Stanley’s international operations and become the Co-Head of Firm Strategy and Execution. Saperstein leads Morgan Stanley’s Wealth Management business and will now be responsible for all Wealth Management channels. He will also assume responsibility for Firm-wide Marketing globally. Dan Simkowitz, Head of Investment Management, will in addition be Co-Head of Firm Strategy and Execution. Jonathan Pruzan, currently Morgan Stanley’s Chief Financial Officer, will become Chief Operating Officer, with responsibility for Technology, Operations and Firm Resilience; Morgan Stanley’s U.S. Banks, and Corporate Services. Sharon Yeshaya, currently Head of Investor Relations, will replace Pruzan as CFO. Shelley O’Connor, who currently leads Morgan Stanley’s U.S. Banks, will become a Vice Chairman of Morgan Stanley and Head of External Affairs. 

Daniel Pinto, Co-President and COO and CEO of the Corporate & Investment Bank, JPMorgan Chase will become sole President and COO of the firm at the end of the year. Gordon Smith, current Co-President and COO, and CEO of Consumer & Community Banking (CCB) will retire at the end of this year. Smith will continue to carry on his current responsibilities until December, and in 2022 he will continue as a senior advisor to Jamie Dimon and other executives, with a focus on consumer, digital and payments opportunities. Marianne Lake, CEO of Consumer Lending, and Jennifer Piepszak, CFO, will become co-heads of CCB effective immediately, reporting to Smith. Jeremy Barnum, head of Global Research for the Corporate & Investment Bank, succeeds Piepszak as CFO.

Euronext has welcomed Allan Goldstein as Managing Director for Commcise Software, a subsidiary of Euronext. In parallel, he has been appointed CEO of Euronext Market Services within Euronext US. Goldstein was previously a co-founding partner of SJ Levinson and COO of its successor, Trade Informatics.

Cassandra Lichnock has joined the California State Teachers’ Retirement System  (CalSTRS) as the new CEO, effective July 1, 2021. Lichnock will serve as the fund’s first female CEO, an important milestone demonstrating the Board’s commitment to diversity and inclusion.

IHS Markit has recruited Simon Chard as Managing Director in Platforms, Regulatory and Compliance. He will lead the Global Business Development of KY3P. Chard is based in London and will report to Richard Blore, CEO, KY3P, IHS Markit.

Marc Reider has joined oneZero as Director of Hub Product Management. Reider will be responsible for building the advanced execution and risk management capabilities of oneZero’s Hub technology to meet the needs of institutional clients. He has spent the last 10 years at Refinitiv (formerly Thomson Reuters), where he most recently served as Development Manager for the FXall product.

Northern Trust has hired Arthur Hill as Senior Vice President, Head of Product Management for Asset Servicing. Based in Chicago, Hill will lead product strategy and development, overseeing a global team of Asset Servicing product leads. Hill joins Northern Trust from Capgemini where he was a senior director for its global insurance and financial services group. 

Jane Gavronsky, who has an extensive background in financial services and fintech, most recently at Credit Suisse, will become FINOS’ first CTO. Her mandate is to work closely with FINOS members to develop and implement open source solutions to address the most prominent problems across the financial services ecosystem. She will focus on generating industry engagement and facilitating efforts across several focus areas, initially including data, regulatory compliance and cloud certification.

Gottfried Leibbrandt (Independent Director) and Shuta Okawara have been appointed to CLS’s Board of Directors. Leibbrandt is the former CEO of SWIFT, a role he held from 2012 to 2019. Okawara is currently Managing Director and Head of the Transactions Services Division of MUFG Bank. Both directors will be joining the Technology and Operations Committee, while Gottfried will also be joining the Product Development Committee. The CLS Board now comprises 21 directors in total, nine of whom are designated as outside or independent directors.

The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the EU’s securities markets regulator, has appointed Natasha Cazenave as its new Executive Director, effective June 1, 2021. Cazenave replaces Verena Ross, the outgoing Executive Director, and is appointed for a five-year term, renewable once. She is currently Deputy Secretary General and Head of the Policy and International Affairs Directorate at the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF).